Breaking News
More () »

WNEP.com | News, Weather & Sports from WNEP-TV — Proud to Serve Northeastern and Central Pennsylvania

Wolf: 17 counties to move to green phase

The governor made the announcement in a news briefing Friday afternoon.
Credit: WNEP

PENNSYLVANIA, USA — Gov. Tom Wolf is easing some pandemic restrictions in Philadelphia and the heavily populated suburbs on June 5, while lifting them almost entirely in 17 rural counties next week. 

The counties moving to yellow on May 29 include Dauphin, Franklin, Huntingdon, Lebanon, Luzerne, Monroe, Pike, and Schuylkill.

The 17 counties moving to green, also on May 29, include Bradford, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango and Warren.

Counties that remain in red on May 29 and are expected to move to yellow by June 5 include Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lehigh, Northampton, Montgomery, and Philadelphia.

Guidance from the governor's office on what the phases mean is posted here.

Pennsylvania is continuing to emerge from a shutdown imposed nearly two months ago to help slow the spread of the new virus. 

Wolf is accelerating his reopening plan even though more than 20 Pennsylvania counties remain above the state’s target for new infections that were supposed to qualify them for an easing of pandemic restrictions. 

Eight counties are more than three times over. Local elected officials, Republican and Democrats alike, have been pressing for shutdown relief amid skyrocketing unemployment. 

Developing story, check back for updates.