Breaking News
More () »

WNEP.com | News, Weather & Sports from WNEP-TV — Proud to Serve Northeastern and Central Pennsylvania

Gov. Wolf easing restrictions on more counties

Five more counties in our area will move the yellow phase of the govenor's reopening plan.
Credit: WNEP

PENNSYLVANIA, USA — Governor Tom Wolf announced Friday that 12 additional Pennsylvania counties will move to the yellow phase of reopening on Friday, May 22.

Those counties include Adams, Beaver, Carbon, Columbia, Cumberland, Juniata, Mifflin, Perry, Susquehanna, Wyoming, Wayne, and York.

Twenty-four counties moved into the yellow phase of reopening on May 8 and another 13 moved to yellow on May 15.

With these additional 12 counties, there will be a total of 49 counties in the yellow phase. The remaining 18 counties are in the red phase.

Red phase stay-at-home orders remain in effect until June 4 but that does not mean that other counties will not move to the yellow phase in advance of that date.

The governor and Secretary of Health Dr. Rachel Levine called on Pennsylvanians to continue social distancing, wearing masks, and other practices to slow the spread of the coronavirus.

Credit: WNEP
Credit: WNEP